1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Voluntary closed season for cod?

Discussion in 'Sea Fishing Forum - Shore, Boat & Kayak Fishing' started by wilky, Mar 2, 2010.

1. wilky

wilky Blenny

Paul made a point in the 'record cod , should it have gone back?' post about the cod being roed up at the moment.

I started to feel real guilty about opening a cod up and finding it full of roe, which is obviously where next years fish come from. I try now not to fish for pressured species such as cod at that time of year, and I am a confirmed kill it cook it eat it man. Maybe my efforts are a tiny drop in the ocean, but there are plenty of moans on here about lack of fish - well guys, why not do a little bit for the future of your stocks? Give more of them chance to breed.

2. Acko

Acko Rockling

I agree with Wilky We should release more breeding fish If we can
    However I fish close in on my small boat and when I see Trawlers grinding up n down and up n down all day and all night less than 3/4 of a mile where we Rod fish i do think Whats the Point???
    Sorry but It really does dishearten me

3. Baramundi Bob

Baramundi Bob Super Leeds United !!!

Makes me laugh. If you asked the question of how many fish people had actually caught this winter, then that tells a story in itself. The majority of people on this site caught less than 10 fish this winter, a large percentage never had a cod. How many people have had 1 with spawn it ?? I bet the answer is less than 10. Rather than suggesting anglers return fish you should put your efforts into a few letters to DEFRA asking them what they are going to do about huge-scale commercials discards, black fish and the targeting of Juvenile fish in the Herring spawn.

4. bucko

bucko New Member