1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fishing the Brigg with Ziggy and Shark - Best Birthday Ever

Discussion in 'Sea Fishing Forum - Shore, Boat & Kayak Fishing' started by carpyken, Jul 1, 2009.

1. carpyken

carpyken New Member

Well what an evening. I got invited by Ziggy, to accompany him out on his Warrior 165 tonight out from Filey. It looked a little choppy but at 6pm we decided to launch. Its my first time ever out on a small boat and really enjoyed the experience of launching. We steamed off behind the Brigg and slowed to a halt for a drift close in. You would not believe it, I dropped a 3 oz lead head with one of Sams Spro Heli-Tail jellys on it and bang first drop into a damn good fish that really caught me by suprise. Eventually got it too the side of the boat and Jason whippd it into the net for me. We tried to weigh it out there but the swell was doing crazy things with my digi scales and it was reading anywhere between 10 and 14 lb. Later I got a reasonable reading inside the bay of about 11lb 4oz.

The Filey lifeboat came around (the big one :embarrass: ), the cox is a good mate of Jasons and it circled us getting as close as 5 foot away, verbal abuse was exchanged but what fun and a fantastic sight, erm in more ways than one, some of those lifeboat crew are looking mighty fine :embarrass: , well anyway we went on to fill a large crate of damn good fish, some averaging a good 5lb, a good pollock to Shark too, will post some pics in a bit, A new pb for me and what a wonderful birthday. Thank you so much Jason.

Ken

2. Supersonic

Supersonic Whitby Bass Club

Spot on Ken sounds like you really had a good one. Happy birthday :happy:

3. Lindisfarne

Lindisfarne New Member

Happy birthday Ken,

It sounds like you had a good trip out, cracking fish !!. Don't be getting any ideas of up-sizing your launch mind... :suspious:

Neil.

4. Davo

Davo Rockling